jump to navigation

Friday Philosophy -Do I think Oracle is Rubbish? October 8, 2009

Posted by mwidlake in Blogging, Perceptions.
Tags:
1 comment so far

This should be a “Friday Philosophy” posting really, but heck it’s my blog, I can do what I want {quiet smile}. Besides, by the time I finish this, it might well BE Friday. Oh, heck, I’ll just change the title now to a Friday Philosophy one…

I’ve been reviewing some of my blog this week {it is coming up to 6 months since I started so I was looking back at how it has gone}. Something struck me, which is I can be pretty negative about Oracle software and even Oracle Corp at times.

I mostly seem to pick up on oddities, things that do not work as first seems, even outright bugs. I do not often post about “this is how this cool Oracle feature works” or “I used this part of Oracle to solve this problem”. Partly the reason is that there are a lot of blogs and web pages about “how this feature works”, so the need is generally already met. Partly it is that I, like most people, are more interested in exceptions, gotchas and things going wrong. If it works, heck you just need to read the manual don’t you?

So, do I like Oracle?

Yes. Over all I really like working with Oracle. This is because:

  • I can store and work with pretty much whatever data I have ever needed to with Oracle. It is rare for me to be utterly stumped how to achieve something, though it could take time and maybe be a tad slow or a little inelegant, but it can be done.
  • Despite my recent complaints, you can chuck a hell of a lot of data at Oracle. Back in 2002 I was asked if I could put 7 or 8 Terabytes of data into an Oracle database. I did not even pause before saying “Yes!” – though I knew it would be a big job to do so in a way that was maintainable. I’d now feel the same about a couple of hundred TB.
  • The core technology works really well. We all complain about bits and pieces admitedly, but if I have a complex SQL statement with 15 tables and 25 where clauses, I don’t worry about the database giving me the wrong answer, I worry about the developer having written it wrongly {or Oracle running it slowly, but that keeps me in work, hehe.}. I can back up Oracle in many ways and, once I have proven my recovery, I know I can rely on the backup continuing to work, at least from an Oracle perspective. I’ve never yet lost any production data. Do I worry about transactional consistency? Never. Maybe I should, I’ve seen a couple of blogs showing how it can happen, but in my real-work life, I never even think about it.
  • Oracle does continue to improve the core products and they will listen to the community. It might not seem like it at times, I know, but they do. It can just take a long time for things to come through. As an example, I worked with the Oracle InterMedia developers back with the Oracle 10 beta program in 2003. They {well, to be specific, a very clever lady Melli Annamalia} were adding stuff back then that we and others needed that did not get to see the light of day in 10GR1, but was there as  a load of PL/SQL to do it in 10GR2. Melli said she was adding it into the code base as ‘C’ as well but it would take a while. It did, I think it was part of the 11G release.

Will this stop me complaining and whining on about bits of Oracle I don’t like or that do not work as they should? Absolutely not. As Piet de Visser said on a comment to one of my recent blogs, it is beholden on us Users to keep Oracle Corp honest. But I thought I ought to mention, at least once, that I do actually like Oracle.

I Like Oracle, OK?

Grudgingly :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers