jump to navigation

Being part of the Oracle Scene… Quite Literally October 2, 2015

Posted by mwidlake in Oracle Scene, publications, User Groups.
Tags: ,
trackback

I have some advice for you all.

Do not get drunk with people from Ireland who claim to be your friend and, if you do, agree to no suggestions they might make whilst you are drunk….

I am now deputy editor of “Oracle Scene”.

os57cover

This is the magazine the UKOUG produce 3 times a year and you can click this link to see the latest issue. There are some very nice articles in there by the likes of That Jeff Smith (product manager of SQL Developer), Fanck Pachot, Philip Brown and prior (and up-coming) issues have contributions from the likes of Jonathan Lewis, Michael Abbey, Grant Ronald, Debra Lilley…

He sucked me into it by stages, a bit like anyone running an illegal street gang might. “Just keep a look out for us…. Just go in and nod when no-one is looking…. just hold this baseball bat for a bit…”. He got me drunk the first time and I agreed to attempt to write an article. He then got me drunk again and got me to agree to write a series of articles. I think I was actually sober when I agreed to review a few submissions. But I must have been very “happy” indeed when I said “Yes” to the being deputy editor…

Being serious, I’m actually very happy to help out though it’s one of those roles that is never going to garner me much notice in the community – but it is the sort of thing the community really needs. Just like people who volunteer to help organise user group meetings or chair sessions at a conference (more on that in a day or two) or help out with the administration of something behind the scenes. Those of us who present and blog and write get some reward in being noticed and recognized. But a lot of people do stuff with little or no recognition, doing it just to help the user community be a success. Maybe we should all keep an eye out for them and say thanks when we come across them.

Comments»

1. David Harper - October 2, 2015

Congratulations, Martin. I expect to see lots of pictures of cats in future editions of the magazine.


Leave a Reply

