jump to navigation

Getting Your Transaction SCN – USERENV(COMMITSCN) January 19, 2016

Posted by mwidlake in development, performance, SQL.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

A few days ago I was introduced (or re-introduced) to USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) by Jonathan Lewis. This is an internal function that allows limited access to the SCN of your transaction.

I was trying to find a way to get the actual commit SCN easily as it struck me that Oracle would have it to hand somewhere and it would be unique to the change and generated very efficiently. I could not find anything to do it so I asked Jonathan and he pointed me straight to this post he did about it a while back. What a nice chap. However, the post is from 1999 (last CENTURY!) so I thought I should just check it out first…

I’ll say up front that this is an undocumented feature of a now-deprecated function. Well, almost undocumented – older SQL reference manuals mention that ‘commitscn’ returns a NUMBER as opposed to the VARCHAR2 returned by most parameters you can use with USERENV, but it does not list it as a valid parameter for that function.
USERENV has been deprecated since Oracle 10g (see the old 10g documentation link here about USERENV) and you have been instructed to use SYS_CONTEXT(‘userenv’,’parameter‘) as described in the 12c database SQL reference manual here. However, there is no way to get the commit SCN from SYS_CONTEXT that I can find, so I thought I’d check out if USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) still works. It does, on my version of Oracle 12.1.0.2!

There are some strict limits to this function. To begin with, you can’t select it, you can only use it on insert/update:


-- attempt a simple select of the SCN
mdw> select userenv('commitscn') from dual;
select userenv('commitscn') from dual
               *
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-01725: USERENV('COMMITSCN')  not allowed here

--But I can use in an insert,
mdw> insert into test_scn (seq_no,vc1,scn_no)
  2  values (100,'abcd',userenv('commitscn'))

1 row created.

mdw> select * from test_scn where seq_no=100

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
       100 abcd         11144739

-- Now commit my new record
mdw> commit;
Commit complete.

mdw> select * from test_scn where seq_no=100
  2  /

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
       100 abcd         11144753

--LOOK at the value for SCN_NO now! Compare to before the commit!

If you look at the above you will see a couple of things. The first is that, as I said, you cannot SELECT the function USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’).
The other is, though a value is put into the column when I insert a row using it, and I see that when I query the information back, it changes when I commit. This is because Oracle is recording something at the point of commit, not at the point of the SQL statement running – and the new SCN is only generated when you commit. A lot could have happened since I did the INSERT, I might have gone for a cup of tea and a batch job kicked off doing 1 million transactions, each with it’s own SCN. So though a placeholder of the current SCN is put into your view of the table row, the value put in the actual table is generated at the time of the commit.

Another limiting rule is that you can only reference USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) once in a transaction, for one row. If I try and create 2 rows using the function in the same transaction I get an error, if I try to update more than 1 row I get an error:

mdw> insert into test_scn (seq_no,vc1,scn_no)
  2  values (101,'abcd',userenv('commitscn'))

1 row created.

mdw> insert into test_scn (seq_no,vc1,scn_no)
  2  values (102,'abcd',userenv('commitscn'))

insert into test_scn (seq_no,vc1,scn_no)
            *
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-01721: USERENV(COMMITSCN) invoked more than once in a transaction

-- now test updating several records
mdw> commit;
Commit complete.

mdw> select * from test_scn;

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
         1 AAAAAAA      11143743
         2 AAAAAAA      11143746
         3 AAAAAAA      11143749
         4 AAAAAAA      11143774
         5 AAAAAAA      11143777
       100 abcd         11144753
       101 abcd         11145543

mdw> update test_scn set scn_no = userenv('commitscn');
update test_scn set scn_no = userenv('commitscn')
       *
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-01721: USERENV(COMMITSCN) invoked more than once in a transaction

-- but one row works
mdw> update test_scn set scn_no = userenv('commitscn') where rownum =1;
1 row updated.

USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) is old, undocumented and limited in use. So why am I looking at it, let alone even telling you all about it? {Apart from the fact that a lot of you *love* this sort of obscure, tid-bitty stuff}. Well, as there is no replacement for it that I am aware of. You can get the current SCN in a couple of ways, the easiest probably being to get it from V$DATABASE:

mdw> select current_scn from v$database;
any key>

CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11146718

However, that is the last SCN used at the time you check it and is not the SCN when you commit. ie it is a different thing. I always find it irksome on those odd occasions when something is deprecated in Oracle with nothing really to replace it.

I just demonstrate again that USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) is a little special below, and not the same as just selecting SCN from V$DATABASE. Before I go any further, I think the value USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) puts into the table is the actual COMMIT SCN minus 1. I mostly think this as Jonathan said so :-). I do see each time I run this test that the first select from V$DATABASE and then my insert and a commit straight away results in a value in the table 2 higher than the select.

Further iterations (2nd and 3rd in this case) show the value selected from V$DATABASE and the value inserted into TEST_SCN immediately after are the same, and are 3 higher than the previous iteration. I anticipated an increase of two, once for the change to the UNDO tablespace for the insert and once for the insert. I am not sure where the third one comes in.

However, in the fourth iteration I have a PAUSE in my SQL*Plus script between checking V$DATABASE and doing my insert and, in a second session, I do some simple inserts and commits {it does not matter what, so I don’t show it}. Thus the difference between the SCN I collected from V$DATABASE and the value inserted into the table.
Finally, in the fifth iteration, I check the value in V$DATABASE, do the insert, query it back and see the two are the same. And THEN I pause so I can do some changes and commit them in my second session. After I’ve done that I continue my first session which commits my latest insert into TEST_SCN. I check the values actually stored in the table and, just as at the top of this post, you see that the value actually preserved in the table is a later SCN than the placeholder one. It is doing something special.

(the below has the noddy code to create my test table and sequence as well as the test)

-- test_scn1
--create table test_scn (seq_no number,vc1 varchar2(10),scn_no number)
-- create sequence scn_seq;
select current_scn from v$database;
insert into test_scn values (scn_seq.nextval,'AAAAAAA',userenv('commitscn'));
commit;
select * from test_scn;
select current_scn from v$database;
insert into test_scn values (scn_seq.nextval,'AAAAAAA',userenv('commitscn'));
commit;
select * from test_scn;
select current_scn from v$database;
insert into test_scn values (scn_seq.nextval,'AAAAAAA',userenv('commitscn'));
commit;
select * from test_scn;
select current_scn from v$database;
pause 'commit some stuff in second session and then press any key'
insert into test_scn values (scn_seq.nextval,'AAAAAAA',userenv('commitscn'));
commit;
select * from test_scn;
select current_scn from v$database;
insert into test_scn values (scn_seq.nextval,'AAAAAAA',userenv('commitscn'));
pause 'commit some stuff in second session again and then press any key'
select * from test_scn;
commit;
select * from test_scn;
select current_scn from v$database;

-- the output of the test
mdw> @test_scn1

--check V$DATABASE SCN
CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11147809

-- Create and commit 1 row
1 row created.
Commit complete.

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
        11 AAAAAAA      11147811
-- note that the inserted SCN is 2 higher than the current SCN.

--Same steps, 2nd iteration
CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11147814

1 row created.
Commit complete.

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
        11 AAAAAAA      11147811
        12 AAAAAAA      11147814
-- select SCN and inserted SCN are the same, 3 higher than first iteration

-- same steps, 3rd iteration
CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11147817

1 row created.
Commit complete.

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
        11 AAAAAAA      11147811
        12 AAAAAAA      11147814
        13 AAAAAAA      11147817
-- select SCN and inserted SCN are the same, 3 higher than first iteration

-- 4th iteration, a pause
CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11147820

'commit some stuff in second session and then press any key'
-- I did indeed change and commit some stuff in second session, before I create my record in test_scn

1 row created.
Commit complete.

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
        11 AAAAAAA      11147811
        12 AAAAAAA      11147814
        13 AAAAAAA      11147817
        14 AAAAAAA      11147831
-- larger gap in SCN (11147817 to 11147831

-- 5th iteration, pause now after insert and before commit
CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11147834

1 row created.
'commit some stuff in second session again and then press any key'
-- I did indeed change and commit some stuff in second session 

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
        11 AAAAAAA      11147811
        12 AAAAAAA      11147814
        13 AAAAAAA      11147817
        14 AAAAAAA      11147831
        15 AAAAAAA      11147834

-- Notice the current_scn from V$DATABASE and the last row in the table match, 11147834..

Commit complete.

    SEQ_NO VC1            SCN_NO
---------- ---------- ----------
        11 AAAAAAA      11147811
        12 AAAAAAA      11147814
        13 AAAAAAA      11147817
        14 AAAAAAA      11147831
        15 AAAAAAA      11147842

-- But after the commit the SCN in row "15" has increased to 11147842.

CURRENT_SCN
-----------
   11147851

-- and the next check of V$DATABASE SCN shows the usual increase of 3 by the commit.

As you can see from the above, USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) is doing something a little special and, despite all the limitations, I might actually have a use for it…

Comments»

1. When did I update that row? | Neil Chandler's DBA Blog - January 25, 2016

[…] an interesting convergance, whilst I was doing this, Martin Widlake was looking at the same thing in a slightly different way. How […]

2. ORA_ROWSCN – When Was My Record Commited | Martin Widlake's Yet Another Oracle Blog - January 25, 2016

[…] was going to do a follow-up post to my post on USERENV(‘COMMITSCN’) just to describe the slightly better known but still overlooked (and possibly more useful) […]


Leave a Reply

